Tchaikovsky’s Pathétique Symphony is one of the greatest of all Romantic works.

Through richly-coloured melodies, Tchaikovsky captures the pain, fleeting joys and fragile triumphs of life, as the yearning and potent energy of the opening movement descends into a devastating finale.

We open with a musical painting of a changing Australian landscape. Maria Grenfell’s evocative River Mountain Sky begins at dawn and ends at dusk with sensual beauty. Then Principal Conductor Asher Fisch performs as both conductor and pianist in Mozart’s broodingly personal concerto.

Asher Fisch appears courtesy of Wesfarmers Arts.

Devastating beauty

Maria GRENFELL River Mountain Sky
Wolfgang Amadeus MOZART Piano Concerto No.24
Pyotr Ilyich TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No.6 Pathétique

Asher Fisch conductor/piano

5 St Georges Terrace
WA 6000

Perth Concert Hall
Opening Times
Friday 18 Mar 7:30pm
Saturday 19 Mar 7:30pm
Contact Details
West Australian Symphony Orchestra