The bright lights and bustling streets give a hero’s welcome to the new world in one of the most popular symphonies of all time.

Dvořák’s brilliant Ninth Symphony featured in WASO’s very first concert in 1928 and remains a Perth-audience favourite with its exquisite, yearning Largo second movement and powerful, profound finale. We open this concert with a world premiere from award-winning Australian composer Elliott Gyger, followed by Ravel’s darkly brilliant Piano Concerto for the Left Hand, performed by Finnish virtuoso Paavali Jumppanen.

Soul-stirring romantic favourites

Elliott GYGER Concerto for Orchestra (World Premiere)
Maurice RAVEL Piano Concerto for the Left Hand
Antonín DVOŘÁK Symphony No.9 From the New World

Jessica Cottis conductor
Paavali Jumppanen piano

5 St Georges Terrace
WA 6000

Perth Concert Hall
Opening Times
Friday 22 April, 7:30pm
Saturday 23 April, 7:30pm
Contact Details