2022 marks the 20th year of the Tom Malone Prize.

The Art Gallery of Western Australia's Tom Malone Prize is a highly respected national event for contemporary Australian glass artists.  It has played an integral role in the Gallery's acquisition of works by Australia's most inspiring, innovative and accomplished artists working with, and sculpting glass.

The Tom Malone Prize was initiated in 2003 by Governor of the Art Gallery of Western Australia Foundation, Elizabeth Malone. The Prize continues in 2018-2022 through the support of Foundation Benefactor, Sheryl Grimwood.  An acquisitive prize, each year’s winning entrant is awarded $15,000 while their work becomes a part of the WA State Art Collection where it will join works by previous winners.

These fifteen shortlisted works demonstrate how our nation’s glass artists continue to invent and reinvent, to challenge themselves technically and artistically, and find new frameworks to distil human experience in accessible and enlivening ways.  In celebration of the Tom Malone Prize’s twentieth anniversary, the 2022 finalist works will be shown alongside each winning work across the nineteen years of the Prize.

The retrospective works demonstrate the beauty and versatility of glass as a medium moving from the dark humour of Tom Moore, to the calmly meditative work of Jessica Loughlin, to the playful spirit of Nick Mount, to the precarious theatre of Gabriella Bisetto.

The winner of the $15,000 acquisitive prize will be announced 2 June 2022.

Image credit - Ruth Allen Dancing at midnight 2021 Hot formed glass; wood, light, steel metronome; soundscape 25 x 20 x 120 cm (object) Courtesy of the artist Photography: Eddy Khayat

Perth Cultural Centre
WA 6000

The Art Gallery of Western Australia
Opening Times
10am - 5pm

Closed Tuesdays
Contact Details